Deron Bos – Organizer

Deron Bos is a professional organizer, Apple tutor, and owner at Bos Organization in beautiful Culver City, California. He is also a produced and published playwright. These are his good things.

Good things to read.

Last Train to Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley and Careless Love: The Unmaking of Elvis Presley. In graduate school I announced to a room full of creative writing students that these were among my favorite books and was met by a chorus of laughter. But these are amazing: my all time favorite fantasy is time travel and these books create a full sense of that: at the end of reading them, you’ll feel like you lived the day to day life of the King in 50’s, 60’s, and 70’s. Guralnick’s writing is atmospheric, incredibly detailed, intimate, and immersive storytelling. If every biography was written like these, I would read no other genres.

The Apostate and Lives of the Saints. Two of my favorite Instapaper reading experiences were these two articles by Lawrence Wright about two religions created in America. “Great, sprawling New Yorker shit” as Charlie Kaufman (the character) says in Adaptation.

Apartment Therapy: The Eight Step Home Cure. Most internet traveled folks have visited the AT blog at some point, but the book is less known and that’s a shame, because it’s one of my favorite references about residential organization. His approach of decluttering and simplifying your space as a means to make it a home and a place to enjoy with family and friends is a big inspiration for my life and my work with my clients. Great combination of philosophical with clear practical steps to reclaiming your space.

Good things to watch.

Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom. I’m not an alien, Raiders of the Lost Ark is my favorite Indy movie like the rest of humankind, but I’ve always liked this prequel much more than a lot of other people. Great set pieces like the raft out of the plane and the mine car chase, some vintage Harrison Ford humor, and the fact that it’s my four year old’s current favorite movie keeps it on my mind. (Parental advisors don’t fret: he skips the ripping from the heart scene.)

Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee: “ Alec Baldwin Just a Lazy Shiftless Bastard” I haven’t watched all of these, but this one I can’t get enough of, I’ve watched it over and over and each time I laugh my ass off and marvel at just how funny Baldwin can be. Favorite moment: the Burt Lancaster story: “I suppose you’re looking for this.”

I’m A Failed Writer and other videos by Yuvi Zalkow These were introduced to me by one of my favorite podcasts The Mac Power Users Very funny, insightful and helpful videos about getting out of your own way to get some writing done plus the tyranny of a New Yorker subscription.

Good things to use.

Scotch Tear by Hand Packing Tape. recommended by one of my organizing mentors and friends, the incomparable Fay Wolf, this stuff amazes everyone. I always make a mess of tape guns – but there’s no need for one now that God gave man the gift of this.

Rip’s Big Bowl I’ve been eating a plant based diet for a little less than a year now and this has become one of my favorite breakfast recipes.

iOS apps that have Mac companion apps and sync through Dropbox: including but not limited to 1PasswordText ExpanderDay One, and Fantastical.

Connect with Deron on Twitter, @DeronBos.

Leave a Reply

