Mary Kincaid – Style Blogger

Mary Kincaid is the founder of Zuburbia, a style blog that curates vintage fashion and home items. She’s also a storytelling and content coach for keynote speakers. Here are her good things.

Good things to read.

The Circle by Dave Eggers.  I found this technothriller more terrifying than other science fiction because it paints a picture of a digital dystopia that could be right around the corner. Its examination of ripped-from-the-headlines issues off privacy, surveillance and social media participation is sure to spark riveting conversation at your next dinner party.

Creative Authenticity: 16 Principles to Clarify and Deepen Your Artistic Vision by Ian Roberts.  Ian Roberts is a painter but he has also written this beautiful book for any of us engaged in artistic pursuits. Less of a how-to and more of a deeply personal ode to creativity and self-expression, this is one of those books that I underlined, highlighted and circled like a mad woman.

Love, An Inner Connection by Carol K. Anthony.  This book examines love based on principles drawn from the ancient Chinese text, the I Ching. Unfortunately, I discovered it too late to save my marriage. If only I had been introduced to it before I said “I do”! Read it and learn from my mistake.

Good things to watch.

HBO GO.  It’s hard to pick a favorite HBO series since they crank out winner after winner. But here they are. All the winners. All the episodes. All in one place. Pinch me, I’m dreaming.

Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work.  I’m writing a solo show at the moment and taking a lot of inspiration from comedians. This 2010 documentary takes you behind the scenes for one year into the life of this 75-year-old comic and it’s a lovely tribute to her grit, hard work and talent. You go girl!

Iconoclasts.  What happens when you throw two creative visionaries from entirely different fields together? Six seasons of pure riveting magic on the Sundance Channel.

Good things to use.

Your Local Library.  If you haven’t been to your local library since you were a kid, it’s time to re-visit. They’re not just treasure troves of books anymore. My Los Angeles Public Library allows me to download music, movies, audio books and magazines plus it offers an amazing lecture series. All FREE!

Moleskine Notebooks.  There’s nothing like the feel of pen on paper especially when that paper is FSC-certified, acid-free and bound beautifully. I’ve used the Moleskine daily planner as my nightly journal for years.

Eucalan.  Hint, hint: Just because a piece of clothing says “Dry Clean Only” doesn’t mean you have to take it to the dry cleaners. I loooove this eco-friendly alternative. It’s a non-toxic, biodegradable, phosphate-free, no rinse delicate wash that’s enriched with natural lanolin and it’s simply amaaaazing.

Connect with Mary on Twitter, @MaryKincaid.

Leave a Reply

