Alissa – Writer, Seller, Mother

Alissa blogs at iequalsAlissa.com in addition to being a freelance writer, cheesy novelist, mother along with 9,997 other projects.  These are her good things.

Good things to read.

Wicked by Gregory Maguire.  I was very disappointed by the play, ONLY because I read the book first.  The play is really, really cute-sy and I think I would have enjoyed it a lot more if I didn’t go into it thinking it was going to be a lot deeper than it was.  The book was full of political undertones that weren’t even hinted at in the musical… Usually I say read the book before you see the play/show/movie, but in this case read it after.

Meredith Gentry Series by Laurell K Hamilton.  I haven’t read this series in a while, because once I start reading any of these books I can’t stop.  They are like book crack. If I let myself pick up one of these books, I would never get anything done.  My house plants would die (if I had any), my kids would run off to join the circus and my fiance would starve to death.

Without a Net by Michelle Kennedy:  I’ve read this book three times and I like it even more each time I read it.  I also like that the author, Michelle, is so approachable.  I have gotten the pleasure of corresponding with her a few times over the years and she’s also a friend on my Facebook page.  I don’t know if it’s just because my early twenties were somewhat similar to hers, but I can really relate to her story and I love that she was able to triumph over her problems to get to where she is today.

Good things to watch.

How I Met Your Mother.   Slightly cheesy show, but the characters are relate-able and it will keep you laughing.

Teen Wolf.   I was very surprised by this show.  I’ll admit that I judged it for being on MTV, apparently I have a prejudice against certain cable channels… but it is a really, really good show!  I watched all of the episodes that were on Netflix this past summer (and I got to use the excuse that it was research for my novel).  Viewers do need to keep in mind that this show rates pretty high on the cheese-o-meter.

Glee.  This show is the Kraft Macaroni of television.  It is extremely cheesy and not afraid to admit it!  I ❤ Glee, and yes, I cried like a baby during the episode where the show dealt with Cory Monteith’s death… and so did my 6’3” 200 lb macho-man fiance.

Good things to use.

Google Voice.  I love Google Voice, because it lets you set up a free phone number that will ring to any phone (even multiple phones at once).  It also lets you view your messages in text form, allowing you to skip messages you aren’t interested in and go straight to the ones that are actually important.  Before I found Google Voice, I never checked my voice mail.  In fact, I kept it purposely full so I couldn’t get new messages.

Google Maps Phone app.  I use the Google Maps phone app whenever I need to use a GPS.  Sure it drains the phone battery, but as long as you have a car charger it isn’t really an issue.  When you’ve reached your destination, it will even show you the street view so you can be sure you are in the right place.

Etsy.com.  Want to find one of a kind Christmas/Birthday/Wedding presents?  Go to Etsy.com!  Etsy is an awesome e-commerce site where you can find just about anything handmade or vintage.  I’ve both bought and sold products on this site and I’ve had nothing but good experiences.

Connect with Alissa on Twitter, @iequalsAlissa.

One comment

Leave a Reply

