Chase Night – Author, Story Consultant

Chase Night is a writer who writes about what he likes – especially the 90’s.  He blogs, offers story consulting, author mentoring, and writes a bit himself, these are his good things.

Good things to read.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. I might be 30, but I read more YA novels than anything else right now, and this one is good. I don’t even know what else to say about it. It’s just really good.

Dog Stars by Peter Heller.  One of a handful of definitely-not-YA books I read this past year. As far as post-apocalyptic novels goes, this was a refreshingly realistic change of pace from the usual fare.

On Moral Fiction by John Gardner — I picked this up after reading his more well-known book The Art of Fiction. It can be a tough read sometimes, but it’s worth it and anyone writing fiction would do well to read it and wrestle with Gardner’s ideas.

Good things to watch.

The Newsroom.  This show sounded really boring the first time I heard about it, and to be honest, it can be a little boring sometimes, but it doesn’t matter because it drops so many truth bombs it might literally blow your mind.

Les Miserables.   Russell Crowe can’t sing. Get over it. Watch the movie. It’s perfect.

Warm Bodies.  I can’t believe the best romantic comedy I’ve seen in years was about a zombie.

Good things to use.

Tumblr.  I go through phases with social media platforms. For a long time it was Twitter, but I’ve really burned out over there and mostly just use it to Tweet my Tumbls. If you’re an author of fiction, I think it’s really the place to be online right now.

Cowbird. This is a platform I adopted early, drifted away from, and am now going back to. I’m not really sure how to describe it so just go check it out.

Asymmetrical Community.  This is a forum for writers and publishers and other creative types to talk about writing and publishing and other creative stuff.

Chase is on Twitter, @thechasenight, and Tumblr, thechasenight.tumblr.com/ if you’d like to connect and talk fiction or the nineties.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

