Raphaelle Heaf – Founder of ArtSpotter.com

Raphaelle Heaf founded ArtSpotter.com, a site to discover and share art events, from galleries to street art, these are her good things.

Good things to read.

The Psychopath Test by Jon Ronson.  An amazing book about the mind that gets you questioning how sane you are yourself.

Stumbling on Happiness by Daniel Gilbert.  I regularly go back to this book as a sort of mantra to staying positive when I feel a bit lost. It’s a wonderful discovery on how humans are more similar than we think and that it’s really the simple things that can bring us a lot of happiness.

The Hundred Year Old Man by Jonas Jonasson.  I was bought this as a gift and couldn’t put it down. It’s an adventure, a life story and a journey of unlikely friendship which reminds me to live every day to the full, no matter how old I get!

Good things to watch.

Game of ThronesI’m addicted, enough said!

The Clock by Christian Marclay.  I first saw this at the 2011 Venice Art Biennale and it’s entrancing. Whenever it’s shown, over 24 hours, it’s synced to be the right time as the locale and it’s just mesmerising.

Wall•EI love this movie that for 90% has no words or speaking. It’s got to be my favourite Pixar animation!

Good things to use.

Moves.  I’ve never been into the Quantified self but the fact that you just download the app and go is great. I love seeing where I’ve gone each day and it’s very clever. I’m jealous I didn’t come up with this one!

Moleskins.  I can’t not have a moleskin with me wherever I am. I love my iPhone but I’m still a pen and paper person and these books have been a staple to the creative since the 19th Century. Now that’s a great product to have lasted this long!

Time. I always believe that you can make the time for the things you love. Therefore use time wisely and it’s amazing how much you can do.

For more Raphaelle and her art find her on Twitter, @RaphaelleHeaf.

Leave a Reply

