Raymond Duke – Raising online communication

Raymond Duke is a part-time Longshoreman who helps startups, entrepreneurs, and small businesses build out their written communication in the best way, these are his good things.

Good things to read.

There Will Come Soft Rains by Ray Bradbury. A short story — a 20 minute read at most — that tells a tale about how a house that continues to live on in the future while it’s inhabitants…well, I don’t want to ruin it, but the story reaches a climactic conclusion. Bradbury is a genius.

My Father, His Son. The second of a three part series written by a Swedish author about a boy named Ingramar. In this book, Ingramar follows the footsteps of his Dad and works on a ship. He travels all over the world and has several unique experiences that include people dying, falling in love, and running into his Father.

Kane and Abel by Jeffrey Archer. This book follows the two lives from the beginning to the end; one is born in the forest where the Mother immediately dies, and the other born in a hospital that his Father built. These two lives from completely different social class spectrums eventually cross paths as they become successful entities in 20th century America.

Good things to watch.

Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee. I randomly found this from a tweet on my Twitter stream. I ended up watching the entire first season. In the series, Jerry Seinfeld takes his friends out for coffee and engages in casual conversation. It’s a semi-candid look at the lives of celebrities acting like normal people. There are plenty of laughs and ‘feels-good’ moments. I think the one with “Kramer” is the best. It’s a must watch for the chess story.

My Life as a Dog. This is a movie that is the prequel to the book I mentioned, My Father, His Son. In this film, Ingramar deals with a lot of tragedies, but manages to not let them get the best of him. It’s a Swedish film that is a completely different genre from standard American films. Ingramar, for example, uses the dog Leika as a way to make his problems not seem so bad.

This Week in Startups. This is quite the curveball from my previously mentioned choices, but it’s well deserved. This week in startups is a news show about startups. It is ran by one of my recently discovered people in the biz, Jason Calacanis. The show has over 350 videos. Many big names in the biz are featured on the show. One my recent favorite eps is the one with Evan Williams, a co-founder of Twitter.

Good things to use.

Draftin. This is a writing tool that let’s you compare your drafts side by side. It also has a variety of other features like hiring someone to edit your writing for a few dollars; exporting to your blog, email, or tweet, and then monitor how it’s being read; and support for multiple users to work on the same document. It’s Google Drive 2.0.

Elance. I’ve been using this site to freelance my skills. It’s actually a lot better than I thought it would be. Once you get set up, you can bid on jobs or post a job. The fees are protected so everyone ends up happy in the end.

Meetup. Meetup is a service to meet with other like minded people. I’ve been fortunate enough to meet some great people from it. All you do is enter in your interest, and see what meetings are happening in your area. The kinds of Meetups I’ve been going to lately are networking and coworking ones, but I also started my own for drinking coffee and conversation. It was well worth the $36 to sign up — over 50 people joined my group.

One thing I’ve noticed after sharing these nine things is that I noticed I am into the things I have something in common with. For example, I work as a Longshoreman so I can relate to some of the experiences Ingramar has in My Father, His Son. I also noticed that I enjoyed Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee much more when I found out that Jerry Seinfeld is taking the concept of talking with people over coffee as a way to create conversations; which is something I’ve been doing in my Meetup prior to knowing about his show.

Raymond is on Twitter, @raymondduke where he’d be happy to meet you, even over a cup of coffee.

Leave a Reply

