Denise – Show Me Simplicity

Denise writes at Show Me Simplicity where she shares stories about failing miserably at being a minimalist, but attempts daily to live life in a more simple fashion and these are her good things.

Good things to read.

Children’s books. It’s funny how a children’s story book can cram a life lessons in fifteen pages and adult books drone on and on and on…

Grammar Girl’s Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing. Everyone writes: Letters, emails, blogs, books and those god-forsaken status updates. This handy book is my go-to resource every day. Yes. Every. Single. Day.

Joshua Becker’s Simple Living eBooks. I owe my current lifestyle to Josh. His thought-provoking, non-judgmental approach to minimalism is something anyone can incorporate if they desire a simpler life. My favorite is Inside-Out Simplicity: Life Changing Keys to Your Most Important Relationships.

Good things to watch.

Live music. My friend, Robin, hosts house concerts each month and I am so inspired by the local songwriters and singers who come to share their talent with us. I’m married to a musician and have to say there isn’t any kind of ‘bad’ mood that a good, thoughtfully written song can’t soothe.

Children playing. I became a mom last year at the age of 41. I thought I had reached a point in my life where nothing could amaze me anymore. But, when I watch my son reach for a wooden block, or see him laughing at the cat walk by, I realize the simple things in life are truly amazing. And it puts life in perspective for me.

I’m Fine Thanks. This film gives wonderful examples of everyday people giving up THE American Dream in order to live THEIR American Dream. It brought me to tears many times.

Good things to use.

Nap time. Last weekend the house was messy, I needed to go to the grocery store, and laundry piled up around me. And when my son went down for his afternoon nap, I joined him. Those three hours gave me strength to get through the rest of the day. Anyone who passes up a chance to nap is crazy!

The public library. Free classes, children’s story hour, book sales, workshops and um…books – all at your disposal and all free. My son and I go to the library at least once a week.

Parent’s Day Out. In my community, several local churches host these events and times vary. Here in my town, most PDO’s are daytime (and yes, I ship my son out two days a week for four hours), but one local church has a monthly Parent’s Night Out and that’s a great, affordable way to get babysitting so you can enjoy a date night with your partner.

Leave a Reply

