Lois – Living simply free

Lois blogs at Living Simply Free, “simple living in 300 square feet”, and these are her good things.

Good things to read.

Material World by Peter Menzel. Mr. Menzel traveled the world and photographed families in front of their homes with all their possessions around them. What opened my eyes was the happy faces of those families from what we call the third world. They had so little but were content. I began to look around my house and found I felt stifled by all the possessions I owned.

Get Satisfied. How twenty people like you found the satisfaction of enough by Carol Holst and Peter C. Whybrow I read this after my children had moved out on their own to start their adult lives. I again felt swallowed by my belongings. Reading this book I found that enough has many different meanings. For some it might be a larger house but closer to family and away from hour long commutes to work, for others (and what resonated with me) was the process of letting go of all those things holding them back to live life fuller.

Toxic Free by Debra Lynn Dadd. There are plenty of books out there about the toxins we are exposed to on a regular basis, but Ms. Dadd presented the information in a totally new way by connecting the toxins to the effects they have on the body. As a cancer survivor, this information was very helpful in reducing the chemical load, and the possibility of cancer again, in my body.

Good things to watch.

The Following. New this year on Fox, The Following is the story of a serial killer who from prison gathers a group of people (cult) who help him to break out of prison and the story of the FBI agent who first captured him who is again drawn back into the situation after his escape. I am intrigued by the concept of how cults are formed and why someone would follow another so blindly.

Dexter (while this isn’t free to watch online, my son saves this and watches it with me when I visit, so it’s become family time every couple of months). Dexter is a serial killer with a conscience. While this is yet another serial killer program, what intrigues me the most are the societal issues of good and bad and the failure of our current legal system of protecting society from those who would do us harm.

Law Abiding Citizen. I think this is one of the best movies made in recent years. I think we all complain when a criminal gets off on a technicality, but how far are we willing to go to try to fix a broken system.

Good things to use.

Your imagination. There is nothing we can’t do if we take the time to think about it from another view point.

A slow cooker (crock pot). An easy way to have a healthy meal after a busy day.

A farmer’s market. We can keep our money local, the farmers/growers will get full value for their work, and the food is fresher.

Leave a Reply

