Eric Dodds – The Iron Yard

Eric is a partner at The Iron Yard, a code school, incubator, and accelerator in Greenville, South Carolina – these are his good things.

Good things to read.

Endurance: Shackleton’s Incredible Voyage, by Alfred Lansing. Along with being a survival story almost too incredible to be true, this book also provides some fascinating observations about leadership, picking the right team, group morale, and the unbelievable power of the will to live.

Dave Allen’s articles for the North blog.  Dave Allen is an incredible thinker and has his finger on the pulse of both technology and culture.

The Bible. The Bible has had more impact on my life than anything else I’ve read.

Good things to watch.

Tony Schwartz: The Myths of the Overworked Creative. Having worked in both the marketing agency world and now the startup world, this video has had a significant impact on the way I work and as a result, my quality of life.

Schindler’s List. My wife and I recently re-watched this film and it’s lessons on humanity, hope, and evil are profound.

This video of people wake boarding in a cranberry bog, because it’s amazing.

Good things to use.

1Password. Purchasing 1Password is the best money I’ve ever spent on software, hands down.

Milwaukee power tools. I do a fair amount of work with my hands, and having the right tools makes all the difference in the world.

The Chrome Soyuz Backpack.  I’m a bike commuter and I travel for work a good bit. This bag has made all of my toting dreams come true.

Eric is on Twitter, @ericdodds

Leave a Reply

