Kevin Geary – The Rebooted Body

Kevin is the man behind The Rebooted Body, a website dedicated to reprogramming your mind and body for rapid weight loss, vibrant health, and peak performance.

Good Things to Read.

I hate watching people struggle with their weight and I really hate hearing over and over again that we’re suffering an obesity epidemic — especially in children. The book that got me started on the right path and that I continue to recommend is Why We Get Fat by Gary Taubes.

My second recommendation has to do with getting back to the basics and enjoying life again. We’re all so overscheduled and anxiety-ridden that we should be considered Human Doings rather than Human Beings. Mark Sisson’s The Primal Connection is the blueprint for getting back to health and happiness by reconnecting with our primal nature.

My last recommendation is for people who want to back to a state of mobility, flexibility, and overall performance (whether you define performance as doing a Spartan obstacle race or simply playing more actively with your children). The Supple Leopard by Kelly Starrett is the go-to resource for all things mobility: healing, injury prevention, injury recovery, restoring functional movement, and achieving peak performance. This book teaches you how safely and effectively do things to yourself that you’d normally have to hire a physical therapist for.

Good Things to Watch.

I know I’m talking about the same person twice here, but Kelly Starrett and Brian Mackenzie (a world-class running and performance coach) recently started a brand new free biweekly television show called Genetic Potential TV. Great stuff.

For anyone who is interested in starting to eat healthier but doesn’t want to dive in head first and really get into the science of it all, Fat Head is a good start. It’s super easy to watch, it’s funny, and while it doesn’t have all the answers it’s a great starting point. Hint: It’s on Netflix.

I’m not necessarily a fan of Jamie Oliver. I don’t know a whole lot about him so I can’t really say either way how much I agree or disagree with his philosophy. What I can say is that I enjoyed his powerful TED talk about teaching children about food and I think you should watch it right now.

Good Things to Use.

If you don’t know how to self-massage and perform myofascial release with a lacrosse ball, you’re severely missing out on good recovery and stress relief. I have them at home and work, and I travel with them as well.

I used to think that working out required a lot of equipment. That was until I found the Ultimate Sandbag. I can do every single functional exercise I need to do with it, it’s portable, and it’s fun. And when I go to the beach or on a cruise I empty it before I disembark and fill it with sand when I get to my destination and I’m ready to rock. It’s the only piece of equipment I need.

If you’re interested in increasing strength but you don’t want to deal with lifting things yet, there’s a great bodyweight strength training app for the iPhone that I recommend: YAYOG (You Are Your Own Gym). Start there!

You can get more of Kevin and The Rebooted Body on Twitter.

3 comments

  1. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of
    any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet
    my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking
    for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like
    this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and
    I look forward to your new updates.

    1. Tweet your twitter updates or tweet your new posts? The new post feature is built into wordpress once you enable it.

Leave a Reply

