Mike Hrostoski – Men’s Coach

These are Mike Hrostoski’s good things.

Good things to read.

The Way Of The Superior Man. This is my go-to book when someone asks me for a book recommendation. Of any book I’ve ever read, it has had the shaped me the most of how I show up in the world as a man. This should be required reading for every man in the world.

The Millionaire Fastlane. This is one of my favorite books on money, investing, and entrepreneurship. MJ Demarco is very straight forward and doesn’t beat around the bush, but I respect him more considering he was a millionaire BEFORE he wrote the book, not after. Meaning he didn’t make his millions from selling books on how to make millions.

Loving What Is. Byron Katie’s system of The Work is one of the simplest and most effective healing modalities that I’ve come across. I use it all the time in my coaching practice and in my life. This book helped me stop suffering from arguing against reality and start accepting things as they are.

Good things to watch.

Nature. I work from anywhere in the world with my laptop and an internet connection, so it’s easy to spend a lot of time sitting behind a computer screen. I make sure to go outside every day whether it’s a hike, jog, walk, or just a 10-15 minute meditation break from my work. I feel the most alive when I’m outside, so I try and maximize my time outdoors.

Live Music, Dance or Theatre. There’s something that’s beautiful about watching live music, dance or theatre. Anything can go wrong. Every moment is so fragile. I’m blown away any time I watch a large production with hundreds of moving parts, all working together in symphony. You don’t get that feeling from watching reruns of Scrubs on Netflix.

TED talks.  I’m sure a lot of people mention TED, but it’s my go-to place for killing an hour or two. I don’t watch TV and I rarely watch movies, but I’m always up for being inspired, moved, or educated for 18 minutes.

Good things to use.

Your Body. Move! Our human body wasn’t designed to sit for 10-12 hours a day. I’m always trying to add movement into anything I do. I take phone calls while walking around the block. I’m always stretching. I work out regularly whether it’s at a gym, park, or in my living room. My health is my most valuable asset and I structure my life around it.

Google Voice. Since I starting traveling internationally more, I’ve started using Google Voice for making free calls to any US number through the internet. It’s amazing. Even when I’m in the states, I use it because it’s so convenient.

DuoLingo. I started learning Spanish before a recent trip to Colombia and Mexico. This is one of the best language learning systems I’ve ever used. And it’s totally free.

Leave a Reply

